Why Do We Grow Roses?

It seems like such a waste, doesn’t it?

Melinda "Millie" K. Dooley
3 min readAug 11, 2021
Photo by Victor Malyushev on Unsplash

This year, I planted roses in a bed that’s been waiting for them for years. Many of our neighbors in the trailer park have roses, even though we don’t own the land we live on and have no real impetus to improve it.

Why do we grow roses? Had I made different choices, I could have harvested pounds of vegetables from this bed, which is actually about the same size as our total vegetable space. We could have effectively doubled our output. Roses are nutrient sponges, so you know I amended the flitter out of that bed, It’s nutrient-rich, now and into the future, and ready to grow.

I spent cash and time improving this plot of land. I spent years stalking heirloom rose companies until I found one worth my time. I spent even longer studying planting timelines for my grow zone (5b, if you’re curious).

Is all this just a massive waste of time, money, and energy?

Photo by Jaunt and Joy on Unsplash

I would argue no.

Agriculture is about more than producing food. Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “the Earth laughs in flowers,” and producing laughter, producing joy is a vital service. The beauty of…

--

--

Melinda "Millie" K. Dooley

Ms. Melinda Dooley is a lifelong educator and enthusiastic biologist, and has earned her expertise the hard way.